Aubrey Nash Led Kansas To Final Four

Bud Stallworth. Dave Robisch. They were the All-Americans on the 1971 Kansas team that contended for NCAA basketball honors. As in so many cases around America, it was a Washington player who quarterbacked the team- Aubrey Nash of Taft Junior High and DeMatha Catholic High School.

http://www.kuathletics.com/sports/m-baskbl/spec-rel/012712aaa.html

Here is a highlight reel from that great run:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNB3kaYZJV0

BCB

3 responses to “Aubrey Nash Led Kansas To Final Four

  1. sharon wingate 202 372 4083/202 423 8550

    please contact me regarding funeral services. thank you.

  2. In 1967 I played offensive and defensive tackle for Bishop Walsh High Schoo in Cumberland, Maryland. We were 7-0 when Coach Wootten brought his Stags to town and we lost 14-13 for our only loss of the season. I had the chance to play college football as result of my performance against DeMatha, specifically playing across from Bruce Mitchell. I coached high school and small college football for a number of years and I occasionally watch the DeMatha film. Aubrey Nash was an incredible athlete and every timeI watch that film he jumps off the screen. I travel back to my hometown each March to attend the Alhambra Catholic Invitational Basketball Tournament. As I sit watching the games I often think of the Morgan Wootten-coached teams and I always think about Bruce Mitchell and Aubrey Nash.
    I’m proud to have competed so well against those men and I wish all the best to the Nash family.

    Best Regards,

    Pat O’Rourke
    Lancaster, Ohio

Leave a Reply

