Monthly Archives: February 2009

DC Basketball’s All-Time All-Met Team

I’ll get the conversation started with my two cents on the best 12 players the Greater Washington area ever produced, in no particular order:

Elgin Baylor, Spingarn

Danny Ferry, DeMatha

“JoJo” Hunter, Mackin

Donald Washington, St. Anthony’s

Harold Fox, Northwestern

Adrian Dantley, DeMatha

Matthew Gantt, Douglass

Fred Hetzel, Landon

Grant Hill, South Lakes

“Ducey” Smith, Fairmont Heights

James Brown, DeMatha

Austin Carr, Mackin

(alternates- Jim McBride DUNBAR/DEMATHA, Stacy Robinson CROSSLAND/DUNBAR, George Leftwich, ARCHBISHOP CARROLL)

Any list this short is going to exclude some tremendous contributors. Who’s on your twelve?


Cinderella Ball:From DC to West Virginia With Kuska

Remember Archie Talley of Central H.S. and Salem State? He set a lot of scoring marks in a conference called the WVIAC. Players and coaches such as George King, Clair Bee, Press Maravich and Ted “Lurch” Cassidy have come through there. DC Basketball founding member Bob Kuska (Hot Potato: How Washington and New York Gave Birth to Black Basketball and Changed America’s Game) has written an entertaining new book on the West Virginia conference, and member Alderson-Broaddus:

Grab a copy- a talented basketball writer and historian is among us.

More about Bob’s latest book here:;overrideTemplateId=PBtmpl0000000000000002

and here:


Howard Manly of the Bay State Banner

New England editor and t.v. personality hooped at St. Albans (and Bucknell):


John Isaacs Was Here Last Year

And children of all ages loved it. A story in pictures:


WCAC Boys’ Playoff Schedule

Courtesy of the DC Sports Fan blog:


Ty Lawson, Dante Cunningham Among Oscar Robertson Award Candidates

Two local players among finalists for NCAA outstanding player honors:


ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has announced finalists for the 2009 Oscar Robertson Trophy, to be presented to the association’s national player of the year.
Teammates Tyler Hansbrough and Ty Lawson of North Carolina are among the 15 players selected as finalists. Hansbrough, among three senior finalists, was the 2008 Oscar Robertson Trophy winner, yet no player has won back-to-back USBWA Player of the Year awards since Virginia’s Ralph Sampson won three straight from 1981-83.
The presentation of this year’s award will take place on Friday, April 3 at the USBWA’s annual awards breakfast at the downtown Detroit Athletic Club in conjunction with the Men’s Final Four. The breakfast will also honor the winner of the Henry Iba Award, the association’s coach of the year, as well as the 1979 Michigan State national championship team that was led by Earvin “Magic” Johnson.
The Oscar Robertson Trophy is voted on by the entire membership of the association, which consists of nearly 800 journalists. The ballot will be distributed to the membership on Mon., March 2.
The following players are finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy:
DeJuan Blair, Pittsburgh (6-7, 265, Soph., Pittsburgh, Pa.)
Sherron Collins, Kansas (5-11, 200, Jr., Chicago, Ill.)
Dante Cunningham, Villanova (6-8, 230, Sr., Silver Spring, Md.)
Stephen Curry, Davidson (6-3, 185, Jr., Charlotte, N.C.)
Tyreke Evans, Memphis (6-6, 219, Fr., Chester, Pa.)
Blake Griffin, Oklahoma (6-10, 251, Soph., Oklahoma City, Okla.)
Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina (6-9, 250, Sr., Poplar Bluff, Mo.)
Luke Harangody, Notre Dame (6-8, 255, Jr., Schererville, Ind.)
James Harden, Arizona state (6-5, 218, Soph., Los Angeles, Calif.)
Ty Lawson, North Carolina (5-11, 195, Jr., Clinton, Md.)
Jerel McNeal, Marquette (6-3, 200, Sr., Chicago, Ill.)
Jodie Meeks, Kentucky (6-4, 208, Jr., Norcross, Ga.)
Hasheem Thabeet, Connecticut (7-3, 263, Jr., Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania)
Jeff Teague, Wake Forest (6-2, 180, Soph., Indianapolis, Ind.)
Evan Turner, Ohio State (6-7, 205, Soph., Chicago, Ill.)
The Oscar Robertson Trophy is awarded to the USBWA’s Player of the Year. It is the nation’s oldest award and the only one named after a former player. The legendary Oscar Robertson was the USBWA’s first player of the year in 1959. The USBWA renamed its player of the year award the Oscar Robertson Trophy in 1998.

Eddie Miles: “The Man With The Golden Arm” Idolized Baylor

Like All-Pro Kansas City Chiefs’ wide receiver Otis Taylor (who was a Houston boy), Little Rock’s Eddie “The Man With The Golden Arm” Miles looked up to DC’s Elgin Baylor:

Unlike Taylor, Miles followed “Rabbit” to Seattle University. Here’s some footage of Miles and Pistons’ teammate Dave Bing (a Spingarn High alum like Baylor) as young pro’s:

The Piston “Tresvant” in the clip is John Tresvant, who was cut by Spingarn’s basketball team- but was a good enough college player at Seattle U. to collar 40 rebounds against the University of Montana.


National Negro High School Championship- Armstrong Won First Two

Washington, as Dick Vitale will elucidate on ESPN tomorrow night, has long been basketball capital of the world. Dr. Edwin B. Henderson, Elgin Baylor, Morgan Wooten, John Thompson, Kevin Durant, Michael Beasley- they’re all from here. The early benefactors of Dr. Henderson’s organization and tutelage were the fine early high school powers here, among them Armstrong, a vocational school. They won the first two Negro National Championships:

That put things in motion for the parade of Bernie Levi’s, Ollie Johnson’s, “Apple” Milam’s and “Turk” Tillman’s that were to follow.


Dave Bing For Mayor?

The Spingarn grad was a leader on the court, and in business. Can he take care of business in City Hall?



Dicke V. Is Hip to DC Basketball

Noted announcer knows we are The Basketball Capital of the World:

Dicky V Offers “Commander-in-Swish” a College Hoops Guide to the D.C. Area

College basketball ambassador Dick Vitale is aware President Barack Obama is a basketball fan, having said, “We’re getting rid of the bowling alley and replacing it with a basketball court in the White House.”


During Thursday’s 6 p.m. ET SportsCenter, Vitale tries to sell Obama, whom he calls, “Commander-in-Swish,” on the college game in the Washington, D.C. area. The piece will also run on Saturday’s 10 a.m. SportsCenter prior to College GameDay.


So many conferences in and around the District, I don’t know where too get started,”

Vitale says. “ACC, Big East, CAA, A-10, Patriot League, America East, the MEAC, oh my, there are over a dozen college teams within a short ride from the White House.”


Vitale, inducted into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame (2008) and the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame (2008), then suggests 19 college programs, and even five high schools, for the President to check out. In a surprise sign-off, Vitale concedes “the biggest star in D.C. these days,” doesn’t play on the hardwood.