Monthly Archives: March 2008

Maryland Women Are Elite

The Lady Terps eliminated Vanderbilt 80-66 to advance to the Elite Eight. Junior Marissa Coleman of St. John’s College H.S. shot 7-14 for 19 points. Maryland is 33-3.


NCAA News: Ty Goes to the Runners

Former DC Assault point guard Ty Lawson led the UNC Tar Heels to an 83-73 triumph over the game Louisville Cardinals. The fleet Clinton, Maryland native contributed  nine assists and 11 points.



Kansas thrashed Villanova 72-57, but Herndon’s Scottie Reynolds paced the Wildcats with 11 points. Dante Cunningham of Potomac High, and Silver Spring, chipped in 10, with seven boards. ‘nova’s third D.C. starter, Dwayne Anderson of St. Thomas More, scored eight, along with four steals and two blocks.


T.C. Williams on Television

Remember these Titans:


DC Basketball on Sports Talk Radio Tonight

Check us out, on “The Big Show With JK”

Tonight at 8-9 p.m. EST, on BlogTalkRadio (we’ve been asked to be on Saturday from 3-5 p.m. as well)


Around the NBA

Washington came back to beat Seattle 104-99. Good Counsel’s Roger Mason shot 8-for-13, sank six three-pointers, and scored 22 points. Suitland’s Kevin Durant led the losers with 32 points (he was 13-for-22) and gathered seven boards. His running mate Jeff Green of Northwestern High scored 13 and blocked two shots.


Lady Terps Advance

Maryland eliminated Nebraska 76-64, as St. John’s grad Marissa Coleman netted 19, had six rebounds, and two blocks. The Lady Terrapins are 32-3.


GWU Tops Cal

Lady Colonials advance to Sweet 16 with a 55-53 thriller over Berkeley. Antelia Parrish of Bishop McNamara scored 15 with 10 rebounds. Jessica Adair of Anacostia talllied 11 with eight boards. GW is 27-6. Cal was a #3 seed.


Lady Terps Win NCAA Opener

Maryland beat Coppin State 80-66, as former St. John’s College H.S. star Marissa Coleman scored 17 points and had seven rebounds. GWU topped Auburn 66-56, behind a double-double by Jessica Adair. The Anacostia product had 17 points and 13 boards. Antelia Parish of Bishop McNamara scored 15 with seven caroms. The Lady Colonials face Cal tonight for a chance to play in the Sweet 16.


Michael Beasley a Naismith Finalist


Fans Will Have An Opportunity To Vote Using Their AT&T Phone

ATLANTA (March 23, 2008) – Two juniors and two freshmen headline the list of finalists for the 2008 Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year Award presented by AT&T the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. Michael Beasley (Kansas State), Chris Douglas-Roberts (Memphis), Tyler Hansbrough (North Carolina) and Kevin Love (UCLA) make up the final ballot.

CBS Sports will profile the four Naismith Trophy finalists during its coverage of the 2008 NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship starting with the first games of the NCAA ® Sweet 16® on March 27.

“There is such a strong correlation between these finalists and season’s their schools are having,” said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Club president. “And each has achieved tremendous success which is difficult to do with all of the expectations placed upon them. We know any one of them would be a deserving Naismith winner.”…’